Mark Bittman, Michael Pollan Named Among JBF 2014 Leadership Award Recipients

The James Beard Foundation has named this year’s five recipients of the 2014 JBF Leadership Awards, honoring culinary innovators outside the strict realm of kitchens and restaurants. The 2014 Leadership Award recipients will be honored on October 27 at a dinner ceremony at Hearst Tower in New York City. They include food writers Mark Bittman and Michael Pollan, urban farming activist Karen Washington, food justice activist Navina Khanna, and farming advocate Ben Burkett. Said James Beard Foundation President Susan Ungaro:

“These five innovators are shedding light on the important issues that our food system faces, particularly the complex realms of sustainability, food access, and public health. Whether it is through education and advocacy of family and urban farms; working with youth to inspire community involvement; or using the written word as powerful tool, all are profoundly influential in creating a healthier, safer, and more sustainable food world.”

[h/t Grub Street]

Have a tip we should know?

  1. Mediaite
  2. The Mary Sue
  3. RunwayRiot
  4. Law & Crime
  5. SportsGrid
  6. Gossip Cop