Which begs the question — what were you gluten-sensitive dieters actually ingesting before all this?
The FDA’s ruling to regulate gluten-free products and labeling from one year ago went into effect yesterday, which means that the gluten-free products you love will now have to be, you know, actually gluten-free. That means, according to CNN, gluten-free products labeled as such must have less than 20 parts of gluten per million when tested. (It’s the lowest measurement that tests can actually detect.) Also notable in the new FDA ruling is that products containing rye, barley, a “crossbred of those grains,” and ingredients derived from gluten must be identified.
But generally speaking, Grubstreet points out, it’s all kind of confusing. Should manufacturers not comply, they will face “regulatory action” from the FDA — but since those products may have been manufactured before the ruling, they’re legally still allowed to be on shelves. And the regulations only apply to packaged products, so if you’re eating gluten-free at a restaurant, good luck to you.
So, moral of the story: don’t trust anything gluten-free. That is, if you are actually sensitive to gluten.
Have a tip we should know? firstname.lastname@example.org