Here’s an Updating List of Tonight’s Oscar Winners




Tonight, the 89th Academy Awards is airing on ABC (and live streams), but if you aren’t going to watch, don’t worry. We are are not only grabbing all the must-see moments and putting them on Mediaite, but this list will be updating as each winner is announced.

Check back here to see each winner bolded in real time.


  • Arrival
  • Fences
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Hell or High Water
  • Hidden Figures 
  • La La Land
  • Lion
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight


  • Denis Villeneuve, Arrival
  • Mel Gibson, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Damien Chazelle, La La Land
  • Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
  • Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea

Actor in a leading role

  • Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
  • Andrew Garfield, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Ryan Gosling, La La Land
  • Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic
  • Denzel Washington, Fences

Actor in a supporting role

  • Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
  • Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water
  • Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea
  • Dev Patel, Lion
  • Michael Shannon, Nocturnal Animals

Actress in a leading role:

  • Emma Stone, La La Land
  • Natalie Portman, Jackie
  • Ruth Negga, Loving
  • Meryl Streep, Florence Foster Jenkins
  • Isabelle Huppert, Elle

Actress in a supporting role

  • Viola Davis, Fences
  • Naomie Harris, Moonlight
  • Nicole Kidman, Lion
  • Octavia Spencer, Hidden Figures
  • Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea

Adapted screenplay

  •  Lion by Luke Davies
  •  Arrival by Eric Heisserer
  •  Moonlight by Barry Jenkins
  •  Hidden Figures by Theodore Melfi and Allison Schroeder
  •  Fences by August Wilson

Original screenplay

  •  Manchester by the Sea by Kenneth Lonergan
  •  Hell or High Water by Taylor Sheridan
  •  La La Land by Damien Chazelle
  •  20th Century Women Mike Mills
  •  The Lobster by Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos


  • Bradford Young, Arrival
  • Linus Sandgren, La La Land
  • Greig Fraser, Lion
  • James Laxton, Moonlight
  • Rodrigo Prieto, Silence

Documentary feature

  • Fire at Sea
  • I am Not Your Negro
  • Life, Animated
  • OJ: Made in America
  • 13th

Documentary short:

  • “Extremis”
  • “4.1 miles”
  • “Joe’s Violins”
  • “Watani: My Homeland”
  • “The White Helmets”

Foreign language film:

  • Toni Erdmann, Germany
  • The Salesman, Iran
  • A Man Called Ove, Sweden
  • Tanna, Australia
  • Land of Mine, Denmark

Sound editing

  • Sylvain Bellemare, Arrival
  • Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli, Deepwater Horizon
  • Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan, La La Land
  • Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman, Sully

Sound mixing

  • Bernard Gariépy Strobl and Claude La Haye, Arrival
  • Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A. Morrow, La La Land
  • David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
  • Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush and Mac Ruth, 13 Hours

Original score

  • Justin Hurwitz, La La Land
  • Mica Levi, Jackie
  • Nicholas Britell, Moonlight
  • Volker Bertelmann and Dustin O’Halloran, Lion
  • Thomas Newman, Passengers

Original song

  •  “City of Stars” (La La Land)
  • “How Far I’ll Go” (Moana)
  • “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” (La La Land)
  • “The Empty Chair” (Jim: The James Foley Story)
  • “Can’t Stop the Feeling!” (Trolls)

Production design

  • Patrice Vermette, Paul Hotte, Arrival
  • Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
  • Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh, Hail, Caesar!
  • David Wasco, Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, La La Land
  • Guy Hendrix Dyas, Gene Serdena, Passengers

Visual effects:

  • Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton, Deepwater Horizon
  • Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould, Doctor Strange
  • Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon, The Jungle Book
  • Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff, Kubo and the Two Strings
  • John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Makeup and Hairstyling

  • Eva von Bahr and Love Larson, A Man Called Ove
  • Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo, Star Trek Beyond
  • Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson, Suicide Squad

Costume design

  • Mary Zophres, La La Land
  • Madeline Fontaine, Jackie
  • Consolata Boyle, Florence Foster Jenkins
  • Colleen Atwood, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
  • Joanna Johnston, Allied

Film editing

  • Joe Walker, Arrival
  • John Gilbert, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Jake Roberts, Hell or High Water
  • Tom Cross, La La Land
  • Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon, Moonlight

Live-action short

  • “Ennemis intérieurs,” Selim Azzazi
  • “La femme et le TGV,” Timo von Gunten
  • “Silent Nights,” Aske Bang, Kim Magnusson
  • “Sing,” Kristof Deák, Anna Udvardy
  • “Timecode,” Juanjo Gimenez

Animated short film

  • “Blind Vaysha”
  • “Borrowed Time”
  • “Pear Cider and Cigarettes”
  • “Pearl”
  • “Piper”

Animated feature film

  • Kubo and the Two Strings
  • Moana
  • My Life as a Zucchini
  • The Red Turtle
  • Zootopia

UPDATE — 12:13 a.m.

An earlier version of the live-updating winners’ list showed La La Land as the recipient of “Best Picture.” It has now been updated to Moonlight, but it wasn’t our fault!

[image: screengrab]

Lindsey: Twitter. Facebook.

Have a tip we should know?

Filed Under: