comScore

You Absolutely Won’t Believe the Travel This Kansas Player Got Away With on Game-Winning Play

Even as blown calls go, this one’s a doozy.

With Kansas and Kansas State tied at 88 in the final seconds of their game on Tuesday night, Kansas junior Svi Mykhailuk fielded a pass from a teammate approximately 60 feet away from the basket. He picked up his dribble roughly five feet behind the 3-point line.

And then — the referees would have you believe — he managed to get from that spot to shoot a layup without traveling.

Of course, Mykhailuk did travel. He really traveled. If super-traveling were a thing, that was what should’ve been called.

But it didn’t matter. The refs let the play go, Mykhailuk got the layup to fall, and Kansas walked away with a 90-88 victory over their in-state rivals.

Amazingly, it took announcers Jon Sciambi and Fran Fraschilla more than a full minute to even introduce the possibility that Mykhailuk travelled.

“Now, there may have been a walk in there,” Sciambi casually said.

The announcers than studied the replay, and Fraschilla said that Mykhailuk took a third step. He neglected to mention that Mykhailuk also took a fourth step…and a fifth step. This was as blatant as traveling gets.

“I just looked up, it was like, I think five seconds (left). So I just took, like, three dribbles, and just went to the score,” Mykhailiuk said innocently during a post-game interview, with no mention of the number of steps he took.

Watch above, via ESPN2.

[featured image via screengrab]

Follow Joe DePaolo (@joe_depaolo) on Twitter

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]

Filed Under:

Follow Mediaite:


Joe DePaolo is a Senior Editor at Mediaite. Email him here: [email protected] Follow him on Twitter: @joe_depaolo